top of page
  • Writer's pictureSydney Snow

Looking Back

This semester has taught me a lot. I thought it would simply teach me that I don't want to teach first grade, but I was greatly mistaken. These kids are a delight and I was their student this semester.


As far as teaching goes I learned about time management, age level appropriate, classroom management, subject integration, and helping students individually.


More overall I learned that art is an experience and it is meant to be fun! Those kids loved art, they were so excited. If it ever became too bogged down by stipulations or requirements the light went out of their eyes. Art is used to stimulate, teach, reinforce and inspire imagination and creativity. I know that going forward managing a class is hard. And art is a class so there are requirements, but it must be enjoyable. A space where the individual is the center and the rules help the student reach a higher potential. These kids have wonderful skills, I just have to give them the tools an get out of their way.


I love that first grade class!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page